This week… ‘Entertaining Grandad’

This week my Mum and Stepdad have been in Italy, a Chrismas present from my Stepdad to my Mum and coinciding with her birthday on Monday. With my Stepdad being a farmer it can be hard for them to get away and this is the first time they’ve been abroad for 10 years! My Dad has been down from Gloucester to look after the farm while they’re away. My parents separated when I was nine but have maintained a good relationship, which has always made things positive for me. So this week has mainly been about entertaining Grandad!

I took the day off on Monday as my Mum would normally have been looking after Bea for me. Bea and I spent an exciting morning at the beach (Crooklets, Bude) with my Dad, plunging into rock pools and getting all giddy waiting for the waves to race up to us. Bea absolutely loves being at the beach, as with everything she gets stuck right in and needless to say the change of clothes I always pack was deployed! I didn’t get any photos here as I was much too busy gripping her little hand and making sure she didn’t choose to dive into any rock pools in over her head. Below is a photo taken at the same beach in February for reference! 

 

On Tuesday I worked as normal and Bea spent the day at home with Rob, getting involved in some spring cleaning and tidying, packing away the fire guard and other woodburner paraphernalia.

Wednesday was a day spent visiting Grandad at my parents’ farm, only ten minutes from home.  

 

Bea loves feeding the fish in my parents’ pond, she takes as big a handful as she can manage and throws it as far as she can into the pond then wants to do it again straight away. I was amazed by the beautiful colours, such rich oranges and reds. Anyone who follows me on Instagram (Bertiebeaandme) would have seen that I spent a terrifying five minutes trying to retrieve my phone from the pond using a rake, after it slipped out of my pocket when I dived to grab the lid of the fish food. Miraculously I managed to retrieve it from the murky depths and it was absolutely  fine, but all I could think about the whole time was whether I’d lose my photos! Later there was more chaos where Bea had a funny five minutes which involved jumping on the sofa and grabbing onto the curtains to stop her fall, resulting in three broken ‘plastic hangy bits’ and a rather dishevelled looking pair of curtains. I’m sure my Mum has hundreds of those ‘plastic hangy bits’ squirelled away somewhere so I’m sure she won’t mind!

On Thursday Bea and I went with my Dad to nearby town Bideford. We spent a happy hour in the park, with Grandad mainly used as a swing-pusher! I left promptly when a Granny turned up with her Grandson, said “I hope you don’t fall off like you did yesterday” and proceeded to push him terrifyingly high and fast on the swings! Eek, I didn’t want to witness anything! Like most toddlers Bea never wants good things to end and there was a ‘slight’ struggle but it was relatively brief and we toddled off for a yummy lunch at Wetherspoons. 

  

After lunch came pudding; anyone who has visited or lived in Devon should be familiar with the divine taste of Hockings ice-cream. I discovered that they do a baby’s teddy cone, so that was Bea sorted! She was a bit reluctant to eat the teddy’s face at first, but not for long.

  

My Dad visited us at home on Friday, and after a particularly hyper hour we retreated to the garden, where things were a lot calmer. Bea loves the old painting with water trick.

   

All in all it was a busy week, but certainly full of fun. It ended with the excitement of turning Bea’s cot into a bed, something which we’ve been reluctant to do as sleeping has never been her forte and we’ve been worried that the change would throw her out. Last night was the first night and it went remarkably well, she seems to love her new ‘proper’ bed and suddenly seems very grown up lying in it while she listens to a bedtime story. I love these milestones x x x  

Leave a Reply

